Nous utilisons des cookies pour personnaliser le contenu et les annonces, pour offrir des fonctionnalités sur les réseaux sociaux et pour analyser notre trafic. Nous partageons également des informations sur votre utilisation de notre site avec nos partenaires en médias sociaux, publicité et analytique. Politique de confidentialité
+86 186 5925 8188
info@3dprotofab.com
EN
Blog

Impression 3D SLA dans l'industrie automobile

Créer du temps: 01/09/2019

Impression 3D SLA dans l'industrie automobile Ces dernières années, de plus en plus de constructeurs automobiles ont eu recours à l'impression 3D pour le prototypage et même pour les pièces finales. Les géants de l'industrie tels que BMW, Lamborghini et Jaguar Land Rover ont tous fait partie de cette nouvelle tendance, produisant des concepts de design, des prototypes fonctionnels et des pièces finies de manière flexible et entièrement interne. Cela convient non seulement aux concepteurs et au processus de R & D dans son ensemble, mais permet également de réduire considérablement les coûts et d'accélérer la mise sur le marché de nouveaux modèles. Chez ProtoFab, nous travaillons avec un certain nombre de fabricants dans ce domaine et avons une vaste expérience du prototypage automobile. Parmi les fabricants avec lesquels nous avons collaboré se trouve Great Wall Motors, le plus grand producteur de VUS et de camionnettes en Chine. Examinons en détail comment nous avons travaillé avec Great Wall pour produire des prototypes de leur dernier modèle.

SLA 3D Printing in the Automotive Industry

Sélection de SUV de Great Wall Motors

Great Wall n'est peut-être pas l'une des marques les plus reconnaissables pour les consommateurs occidentaux, mais ne doutez pas de leur envergure. Dès 1998, Great Wall était déjà établi comme le plus grand producteur de camionnettes en Chine et sa position sur le marché ne faisait que se renforcer depuis. Dans les années 2000, ils se sont tournés de plus en plus vers les SUV et le modèle Havel H6 de la société est le SUV le plus vendu en Chine. Compte tenu de la taille énorme du marché chinois, cela en fait l'un des plus grands constructeurs automobiles au monde et, ces dernières années, ils se sont développés à l'étranger. Leurs ramassages ont été populaires en Australie et les ventes des Européens augmentent d'année en année.

En 2017, Great Wall a lancé WEY, une marque haut de gamme distincte axée sur les VUS compacts. C'est le projet auquel nous participons récemment.

3D Printing car model

ProtoFab a joué un rôle important dans le développement du WEY VV7 par Great Wall en 2015 et 2016

Nous avons commencé à travailler avec Great Wall en 2007 et proposons depuis des services d’usinage CNC et d’impression 3D. L'innovation et la flexibilité deviennent de plus en plus importantes dans l'ensemble de la fabrication, et c'est certainement le cas dans l'industrie automobile. Pour cette raison, Great Wall utilise de plus en plus des techniques de fabrication additives flexibles plutôt que des techniques plus traditionnelles telles que l'usinage CNC.
Impression 3D tout au long du cycle de production

Le cycle de vie d'une pièce automobile comprend trois étapes: la recherche et développement, la production et l'utilisation finale, et l'impression 3D peut jouer un rôle dans chacune de ces étapes. Examinons certaines des méthodes utilisées par les fabricants comme Great Wall pour imprimer en 3D.

Évaluation des concepts de design: le design est l’un des principaux moyens par lesquels les marques de voitures se distinguent. Il est donc essentiel pour le succès du style de son véhicule. De nos jours, de nombreux modèles de marques différentes sont assez similaires sous la carrosserie, mais se disputent des caractéristiques démographiques totalement différentes en raison du style différent. Il est important que les concepteurs puissent expérimenter avec une variété d'idées et cibler le meilleur chemin possible par essais et erreurs, sans avoir à confirmer l'orientation de la conception dès le début du processus. Si la création de modèles conceptuels est coûteuse et prend beaucoup de temps, les équipes de conception s’orienteront davantage vers des conceptions conservatrices ou, du moins, ne seront pas aussi disposées à expérimenter diverses options. L’impression 3D permet de créer des prototypes de conception rapidement, facilement et à faible coût, ce qui permet aux équipes de conception d’explorer une gamme de solutions beaucoup plus large.

Tests de conception: la conception ne concerne pas seulement l’esthétique, mais également la performance et les aspects pratiques. Lors du développement d'un nouveau véhicule, il est important de veiller à ce que la conception de chaque composant soit solide en termes de résistance structurelle, de compatibilité avec les autres composants et de faisabilité globale. Sans la possibilité de produire des prototypes fonctionnels rapidement et facilement, certaines décisions de conception clés devront être intégrées très tôt dans le processus sans être correctement testées. Cela augmente considérablement le risque d'erreurs et de problèmes de qualité plus tard. Les prototypes fonctionnels imprimés en 3D qui peuvent être produits et modifiés rapidement représentent plus qu'un cycle de développement plus rapide et plus pratique, mais conduisent également à un produit final meilleur et plus sûr.

Pièces à structures complexes: l'impression 3D prend tout son sens lorsque des structures complexes sont impliquées. Cela est vrai à la fois pour les prototypes et pour les pièces finales. L’impression 3D permet aux concepteurs d’exploiter pleinement leur imagination et de ne pas se laisser contraindre par les limites de la fabrication des pièces. Non seulement l’impression 3D élargit considérablement les possibilités de ce qui peut être fait, mais elle rend également les pièces complexes moins chères, plus faciles et plus rapides à produire.

Pièces utilisant plus d'un matériau: lors du développement d'un véhicule à la pointe de la technologie, il est inévitable que certains composants doivent utiliser plusieurs matériaux. Cela peut être une combinaison de caoutchouc et de plastique, un mélange de matériaux de différentes couleurs ou un mélange de matériaux transparents et opaques. De tels cas sont courants dans la fabrication automobile et nous les rencontrons régulièrement. Par rapport aux techniques traditionnelles telles que le moulage par injection bicolore, l’impression 3D présente plusieurs avantages évidents. Celles-ci incluent des pièces plus solides et plus fiables et l’évitement des coûts de moulage élevés.

Pièces légères: la réduction du poids est devenue de plus en plus importante dans l'industrie automobile, les constructeurs recherchant une efficacité toujours plus grande. Avec la technologie d'impression 3D, il est possible de fabriquer des pièces structurelles légères et creuses au lieu de recourir à la technologie du remplissage en mousse ou de la technologie mucell. Pour illustrer à quel point l'impression 3D peut faire gagner du poids, un siège d'auto imprimé en 3D produit par Toyota était 72% plus léger qu'un siège traditionnel.

Impression d'outils spécialisés: l'impression 3D n'est pas seulement utile pour la production de composants et de prototypes, elle convient également à la création d'outils à usage spécifique pouvant être utilisés ailleurs dans le processus de fabrication. Ceux-ci peuvent inclure des outils de mesure de précision, ainsi que des moulages et des moules.

Après modification du marché: La modification des voitures est une activité très importante et il ne manque pas de gens, en particulier de jeunes, qui cherchent à se distinguer de la foule par la personnalisation. L’impression 3D est parfaite pour cela, car elle permet de produire des pièces vraiment uniques à un coût relativement bas, par exemple des spoilers de remplacement, des séparateurs avant ou des panneaux de tableau de bord intérieurs.

Vous trouverez ci-dessous des exemples de pièces automobiles que nous avons produites pour Great Wall Motors:

Front-left door panel and speaker mesh 3D printed by the ProtoFab SLA600 using Formula W Resin
Panneau de porte et haut-parleur avant gauche imprimés en 3D par le ProtoFab SLA600 avec la résine Formula W

Detail of the 3d printed Door panel
Détail du panneau de porte

3d structure
Une structure de grille complexe que nous avons imprimée

SLA Vs. CNC

SLA Vs. CNC
Dimensionnellement, les deux parties étaient essentiellement identiques

Lors du développement d’une nouvelle pièce ou d’un nouveau produit, l’impression 3D et la commande numérique par ordinateur méritent certainement d’être examinées. Il existe des situations dans lesquelles une technique est plus appropriée que l’autre. Alors, quels sont les facteurs que nous devrions rechercher pour décider lequel choisir?

CNC idéal pour la production à grande échelle

Si nous ne tenons compte que des tolérances et de la qualité de la finition, la CNC est le choix évident. L’impression SLA 3D n’est certes pas inexacte, mais elle ne peut pas rivaliser avec l’usinage CNC pour obtenir des surfaces lisses. De plus, si vous avez besoin de produire un grand nombre de pièces, et pas seulement un ou deux prototypes, la CNC est définitivement la voie à suivre, en particulier si la pièce est simple en structure. Un autre avantage de l'usinage CNC réside dans les matériaux. Vous pouvez usiner sur presque n'importe quel matériau, y compris le bois, le métal et les plastiques, tandis que l'impression 3D SLA se limite à l'utilisation de résine photosensible. Cela peut être formulé pour imiter divers thermoplastiques populaires, mais la CNC conservera toujours l'avantage à cet égard.

The CNC process is messy and inefficient, in this case requiring 25 separate pieces to be machined and then glued together
Le processus CNC est en désordre et inefficace, dans ce cas, il faut usiner 25 pièces distinctes, puis les coller ensemble.

All the pieces of the CNC part waiting to be glued together
Toutes les pièces de la partie CNC attendent d'être collées.

SLA flexible et efficace


Toutefois, lorsque la structure des pièces est complexe et que seul un petit nombre est requis, l’impression 3D est une solution beaucoup plus efficace. Pour mieux illustrer les avantages de l'impression 3D pour l'industrie automobile, prenons l'exemple spécifique d'un prototype de capot de protection que nous avons créé pour Great Wall Motors. Nous avons décidé de produire la même pièce en utilisant l’impression SLA 3D et l’usinage CNC, et les résultats ont été extrêmement intéressants. Nous avons constaté que l'impression 3D était nettement meilleure dans presque tous les domaines.

Par exemple, la pièce imprimée en 3D peut être imprimée en une seule pièce, alors que la pièce usinée par commande numérique doit être produite en plusieurs pièces, puis collée ensemble. Cela nécessitait beaucoup plus de main-d'œuvre et trois machines devaient être utilisées pour produire les 25 sections. Tant de sections étaient nécessaires parce que la tête de l'outil dans l'usinage CNC est extrêmement limitée dans son mouvement et que des formes plus complexes sont impossibles à produire. De plus, la dernière pièce de la CNC pesait moins de 1 kg, mais avait été découpée dans un bloc de 27 kg de matériau, ce qui représente un niveau de perte incroyable. Pour la partie imprimée en 3D, il y avait très peu de gaspillage de résine et globalement, la pièce était beaucoup moins chère à produire.

This 3D printed engine cover was produced as a single piece
Cette couverture de moteur imprimée en 3D a été produite en une seule pièce.

Le temps d'impression réel de l'imprimante SLA était similaire à celui de l'usinage CNC, mais dans l'ensemble, le processus CNC était beaucoup plus lent. En effet, l’usinage à commande numérique a nécessité 10 heures de préparation, dont 4 heures d’analyse et 6 heures de configuration. Cela se compare à quelques heures de préparation pour l'imprimante 3D. La pièce CNC nécessite également beaucoup plus de post-traitement car elle est produite en plusieurs sections, tandis que la pièce imprimée en 3D ne nécessite que le lavage et le ponçage standard.


Une heure supplémentaire de collage était nécessaire pour CNC

An extra hour of gluing was required for CNC
Tout le collage supplémentaire a affecté la finition

Dans l’ensemble, l’impression 3D s’est révélée plus flexible, plus rapide, plus efficace, moins chère et moins laborieuse. Par rapport à l'impression 3D, les inconvénients de l'usinage CNC sont particulièrement évidents, en particulier son inefficacité générale et son manque de flexibilité.

the 3D printed part had a nice clean finish
En revanche, la partie imprimée en 3D avait une belle finition nette

Comparaison des deux techniques:

Technology SLA 3D printing CNC machining
Ease of Manufacture Part printed as a single piece. Multiple parts can be printed at once. Parts often need to be produced in multiple sections and then glued together. Each piece has to be machined independently.
Types of Structure Possible Any shape can be printed, including complex lattices and hollow parts. Only simple structures can be produced.
Material Photosensitive resin. ABS.
Material Usage Additive manufacturing process that makes use of more than 95% of material. Subtractive manufacturing process that wastes the vast majority of material.
Lead Time Typically 2 to 3 days. Typically 5 to 7 days.
Flexibility Very flexible. Designs can be altered quickly and easily. The machine can be prepared quickly. Inflexible. Adjusting designs is slow and difficult.
Design Limitations Only limited by the designer’s imagination. Many shapes and structures are impossible and need to be avoided.
Personnel 1 person can operate and monitor multiple machines. New personnel can be trained in a day. 2 to 3 people to operate each machine. New personnel require 6 months of training.
Noise and Environmental Factors Almost silent and very little waste. Very loud. Huge quantities of dust are produced which is harmful to breath in.

The final part fitted to the WEY VV7c
La dernière partie du WEY VV7c

L'impression 3D et l'avenir de l'industrie automobile

Notre coopération avec Great Wall Motors a permis de démontrer l’utilité de l’impression 3D dans le secteur automobile et nous sommes confiants que la fabrication additive continuera de remplacer les techniques de fabrication traditionnelles. Bien que l’usinage numérique soit encore meilleur pour la production en série et certaines pièces fonctionnelles, l’impression 3D présente de nombreux autres avantages qu’il est dans la plupart des cas simple d’utiliser l’impression 3D. Great Wall a pu obtenir les prototypes dont ils avaient besoin beaucoup plus rapidement et à un coût bien inférieur par rapport aux méthodes traditionnelles, tout en bénéficiant d'une flexibilité considérablement améliorée tout au long de la phase de développement. Grâce à ces avantages, il est clair que l’impression 3D sera au cœur de l’industrie automobile.

3D Printers
Le prototypage SLA 3D est plus facile avec notre sélection d'équipements et de matériaux d'impression

Nouvelles connexes

We use cookies to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners. Privacy Policy
+86 186 5925 8188
info@3dprotofab.com
EN

Resource

SLA 3D Printing in the Automotive Industry

Create Time: 01/09/2019

SLA 3D Printing in the Automotive Industry In recent years we have seen more and more car manufacturers making use of 3D printing for prototyping and even for final parts. Industry giants such as BMW, Lamborghini and Jaguar Land Rover have all been a part of this new trend, producing design concepts, functional prototypes and finished parts flexibly and entirely in-house. This is not just convenient for designers and for the R&D process as a whole but can also reduce costs substantially and speed up time-to-market for new designs. At ProtoFab we have been working with a number of manufacturers in this field and have extensive experience of automotive prototyping. Among the manufacturers we have worked with is Great Wall Motors, the largest producer of SUVs and pick-up trucks in China. Let’s take a detailed look at how we worked with Great Wall to produce prototype parts for their latest model.

SLA 3D Printing in the Automotive Industry

SUV Selections from Great Wall Motors

Great Wall may not be one of the most recognizable brands to western consumers but be in no doubt as to their scale. As early as 1998, Great Wall was already established as the biggest producer of pick-up trucks in China and their market position has only been strengthening since then. Into the 2000s they started focusing more and more on SUVs and the firm’s Havel H6 model is the best-selling SUV in China. Given the enormous size of the Chinese market this makes them one of the biggest car manufacturers in the world, and in the recent years they have been expanding overseas. Their pick-ups have been popular in Australia and Europeans sales are growing year-on-year.

In 2017 Great Wall launched WEY, a separate premium brand focused on compact SUVs.This is the project we have been assisting with recently.

3D Printing car model

ProtoFab played an important role in Great Wall's development of the WEY VV7 during 2015 and 2016

We first started working with Great Wall in 2007 and have been providing CNC machining and 3D printing services ever since. Innovation and flexibility are becoming more important in manufacturing as a whole, and this is certainly true of the automotive industry. For this reason, Great Wall is increasingly making use of flexible additive manufacturing techniques rather than more traditional techniques like CNC machining.
3D printing throughout the entire production cycle

The life cycle of an automotive part consists of three stages - R&D, production and end use, and 3D printing can play a role in each of these. Let’s look at some of the specific ways manufacturers like Great Wall make use of 3D printing.

Assessing design concepts:Design is one of the primary ways that car brands distinguish themselves, so getting the styling of a vehicle right is essential to its success. Nowadays, many models from different brands are quite similar under the bodywork but compete for entirely different demographics due to different styling. It is important that designers are able to experiment with a variety of ideas and narrow in on the best path through trial and error, rather than having to confirm a design direction right at the beginning of the process. If creating concept models is expensive and time-consuming then design teams will gravitate more towards conservative designs, or at least won’t be as willing to experiment with a variety of options. 3D printing allows for design prototypes to be created quickly, easily and at low cost, freeing up design teams to explore a much wider range of solutions.

Design testing:Design isn’t just about aesthetics but also about performance and practicalities. When developing a new vehicle, it’s important to ensure that the design of every component is sound in terms of its structural strength, its compatibility with the other components and its overall feasibility. Without the ability to produce functional prototypes quickly and easily, some key design decisions will have to be locked-in very early on in the process without properly putting them to the test. This greatly increases the chance of errors and quality issues further down the line. 3D printed functional prototypes that can be quickly produced and altered represent more than just a quicker and more convenient development cycle, but also lead to a better and safer final product.

Parts with complex structures:3D printing really comes into its own when complex structures are involved. This is true both for prototypes and for final parts. 3D printing allows designers to fully explore their imagination and not be constrained by the limitations of how the parts are produced. Not only does 3D printing vastly expand the possibilities of what can be done, it also makes complex parts cheaper, easier and faster to produce.

Parts using more than one material:When developing a cutting-edge vehicle, it is inevitable that some components will need to make use of multiple materials. This could be a combination of rubber and plastic, a mix of materials of different colors or a mix of transparent and opaque materials. Such cases are commonplace in automotive manufacturing and we encounter them on a regular basis. Compared with traditional techniques such as two-color injection molding 3D printing has several clear advantages. These include stronger, more reliable parts and the avoidance of expensive mold costs.

Lightweight parts:Reducing weight has become increasingly important in the car industry as manufacturers seek ever greater efficiency. With 3D printing technology it is possible to manufacture hollow lightweight structural parts instead of relying on foam filling or mucell technology. As an example of how much weight saving 3D printing can bring, a 3D printed car seat produced by Toyota was measured to be 72% lighter than the traditional seat.

Printing specialized tools:3D printing isn’t just useful for producing components and prototypes, it’s also well-suited to creating specific-use tools that can be used elsewhere in the manufacturing process. These can include precision measuring tools as well as casts and molds.

After market modification:Modifying cars is big business and there is no shortage of people, particularly young people, who are looking to set themselves apart from the crowd with individualization. 3D printing is perfect for this, allowing for truly unique parts to be produced at relatively low cost, for example replacement spoilers, front splitters or interior dashboard panels.

Below are examples of automotive parts we have produced for Great Wall Motors:

Front-left door panel and speaker mesh 3D printed by the ProtoFab SLA600 using Formula W Resin
Front-left door panel and speaker mesh 3D printed by the ProtoFab SLA600 using Formula W Resin

Detail of the 3d printed Door panel
Detail of the door panel

3d structure
A complex grill structure we printed

SLA Vs. CNC

SLA Vs. CNC
Dimensionally, the two parts were essentially identical

When developing a new part or product 3D printing and CNC are certainly both worth considering, and there are situations where one technique will be more suitable than the other. So what are the factors that we should be looking for when deciding which one to go for?

CNC best for large-scale production

If we only consider tolerances and the quality of the finish then CNC is the clear choice. SLA 3D printing is certainly not inaccurate, but it can’t quite compete with CNC machining when it comes to achieving smooth surfaces. Furthermore, if you need to produce a large number of the part, and not just one or two prototypes, CNC is definitely the way to go, particularly if the part is simple in structure. Another advantage of CNC machining is in materials. You can CNC machine almost any material, including wood, metal and plastics, while SLA 3D printing is limited to using photosensitive resin. This can be formulated to mimic various popular thermoplastics but CNC will always hold the advantage in this regard.

The CNC process is messy and inefficient, in this case requiring 25 separate pieces to be machined and then glued together
The CNC process is messy and inefficient, in this case requiring 25 separate pieces to be machined and then glued together.

All the pieces of the CNC part waiting to be glued together
All the pieces of the CNC part waiting to be glued together.

SLA flexible and efficient


However, when parts are complex in structure and only a small number are required, 3D printing is a much more effective solution. To better illustrate the advantages of 3D printing for the automotive industry, let’s take the specific example of an engine cover prototype we create for Great Wall Motors. We decided to produce the same part using both SLA 3D printing and CNC machining, and the results were extremely interesting. We found that for this part and other parts like it,3D printing was significantly better in almost every area.

For example, the 3D printed part could be printed in a single piece, whereas the CNC machined part had to be produced in multiple pieces and then glued together. This was much more labor intensive and three machines had to be used to produce all 25 sections. So many sections were required because the tool head in CNC machining is severely restricted in its movement and more complex shapes are impossible to produce. Furthermore, the final CNC part weighed less than 1 kg but was cut out from a 27 kg block of material, which is an astounding level of waste. For the 3D printed part there was very little waste of resin and overall the part was much cheaper to produce.

This 3D printed engine cover was produced as a single piece
This 3D printed engine cover was produced as a single piece.

The actual printing time for the SLA printer was similar to the CNC machining time, but overall the CNC process was much slower. This is because the CNC machining required 10 hours of preparation, including 4 hours of analysis and 6 hours of configuration. This compares to just a few hours of preparation for the 3D printer. The CNC part also need much more post-processing due to it being produced in multiple sections, while the 3D printed part only required the standard washing and sanding.


An extra hour of gluing was required for CNC

An extra hour of gluing was required for CNC
All the extra gluing affected the finish

On the whole, 3D printing proved to be more flexible, faster, more efficient, cheaper and less labor intensive. When compared back-to-back with 3D printing the drawbacks of CNC machining are particularly apparent, especially its general inefficiency and lack of flexibility.

the 3D printed part had a nice clean finish
In contrast, the 3D printed part had a nice clean finish

Comparison of both techniques:

Technology SLA 3D printing CNC machining
Ease of Manufacture Part printed as a single piece. Multiple parts can be printed at once. Parts often need to be produced in multiple sections and then glued together. Each piece has to be machined independently.
Types of Structure Possible Any shape can be printed, including complex lattices and hollow parts. Only simple structures can be produced.
Material Photosensitive resin. ABS.
Material Usage Additive manufacturing process that makes use of more than 95% of material. Subtractive manufacturing process that wastes the vast majority of material.
Lead Time Typically 2 to 3 days. Typically 5 to 7 days.
Flexibility Very flexible. Designs can be altered quickly and easily. The machine can be prepared quickly. Inflexible. Adjusting designs is slow and difficult.
Design Limitations Only limited by the designer’s imagination. Many shapes and structures are impossible and need to be avoided.
Personnel 1 person can operate and monitor multiple machines. New personnel can be trained in a day. 2 to 3 people to operate each machine. New personnel require 6 months of training.
Noise and Environmental Factors Almost silent and very little waste. Very loud. Huge quantities of dust are produced which is harmful to breath in.

The final part fitted to the WEY VV7c
The final part fitted to the WEY VV7c

3D printing and the future of the automotive industry

Our cooperation with Great Wall Motors has helped demonstrate the utility of 3D printing in the automotive sector, and we are confident that additive manufacturing will continue to replace traditional manufacturing techniques. Although CNC machining is still better for mass production and certain functional parts, 3D printing has so many other advantages that in most cases going with 3D printing is an easy choice. Great Wall was able to get the prototypes they needed much more quickly and at much lower cost compared to traditional methods, and also with greatly improved flexibility throughout the entire development phase. With these kinds of benefits, it is clear that 3D printing will be at the heart of the automotive industry going forward.

3D Printers
SLA 3D prototyping is easier with our selection of printing equipment and materials

Related News
  • ProtoFab Has Flexible Solutions for Minimizing Resin Use

    ProtoFab Has Flexible Solutions for Minimizing Resin Use

    January 16, 2019ProtoFab Has Flexible Solutions for Minimizing Resin UseCustomers who purchase 3D printing hardware but who primarily print small models or only use the device occasionally are often faced with the pr...view
  • Finishing: How to Take 3D Printed Parts to the Next Level

    Finishing: How to Take 3D Printed Parts to the Next Level

    January 18, 2019Finishing: How to Take 3D Printed Parts to the Next LevelCreate Time: 09/07/2018At ProtoFab we offer a wide range of post-processing options that give vastly differing finishes. Some options are prima...view
  • Industrial SLA vs. Desktop SLA

    Industrial SLA vs. Desktop SLA

    January 18, 2019Companies interested in SLA 3D printing may be startled to see the extreme difference in price between consumer desktop SLA printers and industrial 3D printers. Most desktop SLA equipment will set you...view
  • Post-curing for SLA 3D Printing

    Post-curing for SLA 3D Printing

    January 18, 2019A 3D Printed Prototype sitting in a ProtoFab UV furnacePost-curing is a stage of SLA printing that is often overlooked but which can greatly influence the final properties of a printed part. Post-curi...view
  • Jack Wu Boosts ProtoFab Presence at Weldex 2017​

    Jack Wu Boosts ProtoFab Presence at Weldex 2017​

    January 16, 2019Jack Wu Boosts ProtoFab Presence at Weldex 2017The 16th edition of the Weldex international welding exhibition took place in Moscow last month from October 10th to 13th, and ProtoFab was well represen...view
  • 3D Printing Injection Molds

    3D Printing Injection Molds

    January 16, 20193D Printing Injection Molds3D Printing Injection Molds3D printing is mostly associated with the direct manufacture of prototypes or parts, but it can also be useful for producing the molds and tools u...view